top of page
Search

How to write, when you’re ready to give up

Updated: Oct 20, 2020


For the last few months I’ve been doing everything but writing: editing pieces already written (just my 2 cents but I feel like writing requires more creative energy than editing), critiquing people’s stories, the best writing methods, making sure my website looks pretty, taking online courses on marketing etc.


But no actual writing.


Why? Because with all of this trying to build my platform, business I just didn’t feel like it would get my voice out there,i.e my endgame. I’d open my various written pieces and just stare at them but I couldn’t find that drive to put words on a page or change the words already there.

And don’t get me started on writing, having a full time job, trying to study part time and stick to the commitment of my social calendar-- as much of a paradox as that is.


How did I remedy this?


I did some soul searching, scoured many a writing blog but the kick in the back side came from a booked titled, ‘The subtle art of not giving a fuck’ by Mark Manson.


Yes, that lead to more soul searching but it got me on the right track.


Where am I now?



In a nutshell:


  • Life happens but commit to dedicating time to your passion.

  • Write even when you don’t see immediate results

  • Write with the only goal to get your voice out there. You’ve got a story inside and chances are there’s someone out there who needs to hear it.

  • Decide what’s worth giving a fuck about and work on it.

  • Keep on keeping on


I hope you enjoyed this post, if there’s anything you’ve found helpful when you weren’t feeling super motivated on your creative journey, you’re welcome to share it.


Namaste, I’m out!

7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page